How to Moderate a Community
Creators and community admins have the option to moderate a community in Heights Platform: this includes approving or blocking posts from students and adjusting moderation statuses. Learn how to use the community in Heights: https://support.heightsplatform.com/article/14-community
A student can have three moderation statuses:
- Pending Approval: if no action is taken from the creator, each new student who joins the community is considered "pending approval" by default. This means that they are able to post in channels and interact with others as if they were approved, but you have the option to review their posts and either approve them or block them.
- Approved: a student will have the "approved" status once the creator or an admin approves all of their future posts or approves their first post. Approved means that from now on, everything that this student posts will be automatically approved without the need for review.
- Blocked: a student will have the "blocked" status once the creator or an admin blocks all of their future posts or blocks their first post. Blocked means that from now on, everything that this student tries to post will be automatically blocked. When a student is blocked, you will then have to approve each of this student's posts manually before other students can see them.
To see all of the moderation actions in your community, head to the "Moderation" tab in the left sidebar, as shown below:
Here you will be able to see everything that needs moderation and all of the most recent posts you can review.
By default, all new students are in a "pending moderation" state. This means a student's first post in your community area can be viewed by everyone without requiring approval but will appear in your moderation queue for review. If you approve their first post, the student's moderation state will change to "approved," and it will mean this and all future posts will appear automatically without approval.
If you block the student’s first post, the student's moderation state will change to "blocked," and this and all future posts will be blocked automatically. When a student is blocked, you will then have to approve each of this student's posts manually before other students can see them.
To edit the moderation state of each student as well as view all of the community activities for a specific student, go to Moderation > Users as shown below:
From here, you can click on "Edit Moderation" on the right side of every member's name and view their moderation history in detail, change their status to approved or blocked and approve or block their posts.
Locked Channels and Posts
Moving a Post to a Different Channel
You can move a post to another channel in your community. This can be done by clicking on the post you want to move, and selecting "Edit Title & Location" underneath the main post title. You can now select the channel you wish to move the post to from a dropdown, and click save.